St George's wins WAM Award

Found in: News

St George’s Electrocity Ensemble has taken out a 2019 WAM Award for Song of the Year, for their original song “Can’t Help This Feeling”. Eliza Griffin (who also wrote the lyrics), Ronan Dixon, Ali Griffin, Tom Sweeney, Marvel Sukadis, Beth Watt, Yvonne Borchers, Marcus Fairhall and Jackson Edmonds are buzzing with excitement following the announcement. The group won the schools 15-17 years category.

This prestigious award and recognition by the WA Music Industry is a remarkable achievement. The group formed in 2016 and have performed in various music events, including the only WA school in the FRINGEWORLD Festival for music two years running, and with the support of the school have professionally recorded several tracks. 

Birds of Tokyo, Eskimo Joe, Gyroscope, Jebediah and John Butler Trio are just some of the well-known past winners that have gone on to have very successful music careers. It is an honour for the Electrocity Ensemble to be placed in this league of high achieving musicians.

Well done Electrocity Ensemble!